College Council

The Uniting Church in Australia Property Trust (Q.) represented by The SCOTS PGC College has established a Council responsible for effective governance of the school. The Council works in partnership with the Leadership team to set and oversee the delivery of the school’s strategic plan. Broadly speaking, they are responsible for establishing, implementing and monitoring policy in relation to –

  • Strategic development
  • Financial leadership and management
  • Relationships and partnerships including the appointment of the Principal
  • Facilities and resources
  • Risk management and compliance


Members Appointed by Synod for 2019

Mr Martin Webb, Chairman

Martin is a Certified Financial Planner® and Director of Graham Financial – a boutique financial planning practice based in Toowoomba and Brisbane since 1985. Martin is an experienced sheep and cattle grazier working for many years in western Queensland. He is also an experienced public policy analyst spending several years in Canberra working in the Treasury and Finance departments. Martin is passionate about learning and building for future generations.

Mrs Florence Kearney, Deputy Chair

Florence Kearney (Flo) is Head of College and CEO of The Women’s College, University of Queensland. With more than 40 years’ experience, Flo has a distinguished career in the education of young people having been the principal of three leading independent girls’ schools over the past 20 years alone. She was educated in Brisbane, has degrees in Education and Commerce and a Masters in Educational Leadership. Flo has also held wider roles in the not-for-profit sector and sporting arenas including Chair of Wesley Mission Queensland Board, Chair of Queensland Girls Secondary Schools Sports Association (QGSSSA), Chair of the Brisbane Schoolgirls Rowing Association (BSRA) and member of the Australian Boarding Schools Association (ABSA) Queensland Board.

Mr Edward McArdle

After completing a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery at the University of Queensland, Edward McArdle went on to become an Anaesthetist. He practiced in the public and private sector in Australia and the United Kingdom from 1975 through to 2017. During that time, he fulfilled various roles including Chairman and Treasurer of Narcosia Anaesthetic Group, Regional Education Officer and Chairman of the Queensland Committee of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists, Examiner for the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists, Chairman of the Brisbane Dinner Committee of Yalari and was an invited state, national and international lecturer. He is a fellow of both the Faculty of Anaesthetists of the Royal College of Surgeons and the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists

Mr David Thomson

David is CEO of Horticulture Queensland’s peak industry body, Growcom. He has extensive line management experience around Australia in manufacturing, distribution, tourism and shipping having led both public and privately owned organisations. David has a vision to build industry capacity, skills and real career opportunities in the Queensland Horticulture industry and sees the region surrounding and serviced by SCOTS PGC as perfectly positioned to realise that potential.

Ms Annette Doherty

Annette is a registered Town Planner with 15 years’ experience and more than 20 years’ experience in local government. She is a Member of the Planning Institute of Australia and holds a Masters in Environmental Law, Graduate Diploma in Regional Planning, Bachelor in Educational Studies and a Diploma in Public Sector Management.

Rev Kaye Ronalds

Kaye is an ordained minister of the Uniting Church of Australia currently living in Stanthorpe serving in the congregations on the Granite Belt. Prior to this, she was the state leader of the Moderator of the Queensland Synod. Kaye was ordained in 1984 after studying at the University of Queensland and Trinity Theological College. She holds experience in the Reserves of the Australian Defence Force, where she worked as a part-time Chaplain for more than 20 years. In 2020, Kaye was appointed as the Uniting Church Member on the Religious Advisory Committee to the Services that support the Australian Defence Force.

Mrs Helen Lewis

Helen Lewis is the General Manager of Outback Highway Development Council Inc – sealing the Outback Way: Australia’s Longest Shortcut – a national infrastructure project connecting Australia east to west through inland Australia. Helen’s experience includes community development, advocacy, lobbying, policy advising and values driven decision making. Together with her husband Ian, they operate Picots Farm, west of Warwick.


Member Appointed by the Presbytery for 2019

Mr Julian Turner

Julian is a graduate of the Royal Military College, Duntroon; the Royal Military College of Science, Schrivenham; and Australian Command and Staff College. He has served in Command appointments at the operational and strategic levels of the Australian Army, NATO and the United Nations as well as in a multinational capacity for the Australian Embassy in Washington, DC. He retired from the Army and began teaching secondary level science and chemistry until retirement in 2017. He is the Chair of St Steven’s Uniting Church Council, Toowoomba Building Committee and St Stephen’s Toowoomba Meals on Wheels Management Committee. Julian brings experience in operating at the strategic level, and education within a girls’ boarding school. He is the Uniting Church, Presbytery of the Downs representative on the Council.


Ex Officio Members

Rev David Baker, Moderator of Synod

Rev Heather den Houting, General Secretary